Faith Sees the Unseen

Now concerning spiritual blessings, when we are about to die, I wish also to say: then we will find and see before our eyes very death, and yet we would gladly wish to live; then we will see before us very hell, and yet we would gladly wish to possess heaven; then we will see God’s judgment, and yet we would gladly see his grace. In brief, we will not see a single one of the things we would like to have. No created thing can help us in the presence of death, hell, and the judgement of god; and if I believe, I will say: Yes, faith is the fundamental principle by which I secure what I do not see; hence, I if I believe, nothing can harm me. Although I see nothing now but death, hell and the judgment of God before my eyes, yet I must not look at them; but fully trust that God, by virtue of the power of his promise, not because of my worthiness, will give me life, salvation, and grace. That is cleaving to God by faith in the right way.

Martin Luther, Luther’s Church Postils, Seventh Sunday after Trinity

Leave a comment